Your Council

Reeve's Message

With record cold snaps and heavy snowfall, we’ve had the real Albertan experience this winter. Thank you to our Operations Department for doing a great job keeping our roads open and our traffic moving.

The 2017 Interim Budget was passed in December with the final assessments from the Province coming in this spring for 2017, seeing further decreases in non-residential. The budget has been completed with the goal to provide our ratepayers with the same service standards on all core services.

The council term of four years comes to an end in October 2017 across all municipalities in Alberta. Watch our website and the Province of Alberta’s for important upcoming election details and information on running for a local government council. This year we had four Councillors celebrate 15 years of service on Kneehill County Council, and we thank them for serving our community: Ken Hoppins, Carol Calhoun, Jerry Wittstock, and Brian Holsworth.

We passed a new Land Use Bylaw in October 2016, and are in the process of reviewing our Municipal Development Plan, the overarching document of planning in Kneehill County. We would like your input at our upcoming public consultations set for February 28 and March 28. As well, we have included a survey in this newsletter for you to complete and return to our office.

Please also join us at our Community Ratepayer Meeting on April 19 at the Acme Community Center, from 6:00 – 9:00 pm. Connect with Kneehill County Council over coffee and dessert and discuss any issues, projects or priorities you have.

- Reeve Bob Long
Reeve Bob Long October 29, 2013-16

Reeve Bob Long

T: 403-443-5604

Report to the Community

15 Year Long Service Awards

Thank you to Jerry Wittstock, Carol Calhoun, Brian Holsworth and Ken Hoppins for 15 years of service! 
70th anniv truck council sm

70 Years of Success in 2014

The Municipal District of Kneehill #278 first became a reality on January 1, 1944, when the provincial government ordered the dissolution of four smaller districts combining them into one larger unit. The four areas were: MD of Carbon est. 1912, MD of Norquay (in Acme) est. 1918, MD of Ghost Pine (in Trochu) est. 1912, MD of Stauffer est. 1918 (in Sunnyslope, then moved to Three Hills in 1939).  At this time, name changed to MD of Kneehill #48.

The First Reeve was Mr. Hugh Parry, & Deputy Reeve Mr. Matthew Schmaltz.

The Village of Torrington dissolved into the MD of Kneehill No. 48 in December 1997. Shortly after, on February 4, 1998, the official name changed to Kneehill County.

Over the years, significant projects have highlighted milestone anniversaries. In 1994, Township and Range Road signs were erected on all County roads to commemorate 50th. In 2004, signs were installed on major entrances into the municipality to commemorate 60th.

The Agricultural Services Board was est. 1945, and remains a strong part of the decisions of Council.