Scholarship Program

Scholarship ad 2022

2022’s Essay Topic:

“As a young adult finishing high school, what future opportunities do you feel are available to you in the community? What opportunities are lacking that you think the County should try to foster for young people wanting to live and work in the area?”

Kneehill County Council recognizes the importance of an educated population to the future and well-being of rural communities. 

The scholarship program supports rural Kneehill County residents enrolled in university, college, or trade school.
Two (2) scholarships of $2000 each are awarded each year. 


Applicants must:

  • Be a rural resident of Kneehill County.
  • Be enrolled in their first year as a full-time student at a recognized post-secondary institution.
  • Have graduated with an Alberta High School Diploma and have taken a minimum of 25 credits in their final school year.

Selection Process

The selection committee is made up of all current Kneehill County Councillors.
Scholarship recipients are chosen each year based on the following criteria:

  • 20% - Academic Achievement
  • 50% - Written Essay 
  • 30% - Letters of Reference and contributions to school or community; leadership activities and personal achievements.

Applications and more Information

Submit your completed application to:

Kneehill County
C/O Scholarship Program
PO BOX 400
Three Hills, AB, T0M 2A0

Or email your application. 

Please direct all application inquiries to Carolyn Van der Kuil, 403-443-5541.

Apply by Tuesday, August 30, 2022, at 4:30 PM.