Doing Business

Welcome to Kneehill County!

Situated in the heart of central Alberta, Kneehill County is a progressive rural municipality comprised of approximately 814,653 acres of land and a population of 4992 residents. Within the Kneehill County boundaries, are the Towns of Three Hills and Trochu, Village of Acme, Carbon, and Linden, and 4 Hamlets (Torrington, Huxley, Swalwell, Wimborne) and other neighbourhoods (Hesketh, Sunnyslope) with a trade area of over 10,000 people.

Kneehill County’s central locality provides residents and businesses with convenient access to larger centres while still maintaining its rural quality of life. Primary access to the region is provided via the Highway 21 and Highway 27 corridors, CN Rail and the Three Hills Municipal Airport. Calgary, Red Deer, Stettler, Strathmore and Drumheller can all be accessed within an hour’s drive of the County. 

Today, agriculture remains the backbone of the local economy. Located at the centre of a high-volume grain and beef production area, the region is ideally situated to grow its footprint in agricultural product processing. Based on the raw materials produced in the region, sophisticated food or plant processing operations, including growing niche categories of specialized food, products, composites, or medicines/supplements has been identified as a strong growth sector. 

Oilfield and manufacturing remain steady in the region and have developed clusters around the primary urban centres. 

As part of the Canadian Badlands tourism region, Kneehill County borders the Tyrrell Museum in Drumheller and Rosebud Theatre in Wheatland County, which both play a large part in the tourism of the region. The ongoing development of Horseshoe Canyon will cement Kneehill County’s reputation as a Tourism destination, bringing visitors from all over southern Alberta to enjoy the breathtaking landscapes, hiking and eco-experience. 

DEP Poster - CFWR Kneehill (1) Opens in new window

Kneehill County, Community Futures Wild Rose, Regional Communities, Business Link and the Province of Alberta have partnered to bring the FREE Digital Economy Program to local businesses. 


Check out #lovingmylocalkneehill for local news, business directories, services and information for Kneehill County, Three Hills, Linden, Acme, Carbon Trochu and surrounding areas. 

Kneehill business can learn more about the benefits of becoming a Three Hills & District Chamber member here!

Community Business Investment Partnership (CBIP) Opens in new window