Voting Stations

Voting stations open at 10:00 a.m. on Monday, October 18, 2021, and will remain open until 8:00 p.m. When the voting station is declared closed at 8:00 p.m., any Elector in the voting station who wishes to vote shall be permitted to do so, but no other person shall be allowed to enter the voting station.

Voting Station Locations

Division 1

Carbon Community Centre
718 Glengarry Street, Carbon, AB

Division 2

Swalwell Community Centre
214 Main Street, Swalwell, AB

Division 3

Acme Community Centre
139 Allison Street, Acme, AB

Division 4

Ron Gorr Memorial Arena
101-101 Park Ave, Torrington, AB

Division 5

Kneehill County Admin Office
1600 2nd St NE, Three Hills, AB

Division 6

Wimborne Community Centre
109 1st St South, Wimborne, AB

Division 7

Huxley Community Centre
225 Main Street, Huxley, AB

Voter Eligibility

A person is eligible to vote in the municipal election if the person:

  1. is at least 18 years old;
  2. is a Canadian citizen; and
  3. resides in Alberta, and is a resident of the County on Election Day.

Every person who arrives at a voting station for the purpose of voting shall verify their eligibility to vote by completing a Voting Register. Once the Voting Register is completed, the Voter will then be given a ballot.

Voter identification will be required for the municipal election. The identification requirement sets a uniform standard of one piece of picture identification or one piece of identification authorized by the Chief Electoral Officer under the Election Act.

Voter Identification Eligibility Requirements

The Local Authority Election Act (LAEA) establishes the requirements for verification of an Elector’s identity and current residence, as stated in the signed Voting Register. The Elector must produce one piece of photo identification with their name and address, issued by a Canadian government (federal, provincial, local, or an agency thereof), or one piece of identification authorized by the Chief Electoral Officer under the Election Act, including the Elector’s name and address. 

Advance Voting will be held at the Kneehill County Admin Building for all Divisions

  • Saturday, October 9, 2021, 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, October 13, 2021, 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Special Ballot Voting

Kneehill County will be providing Special Ballot Voting opportunities during the 2021 General Municipal Election and Provincial Senate and Referendum Election.

What is Special Ballot Voting?

It is a means for electors to cast a ballot if they will not be able to vote at any advance poll or at their local polling place on election day.

The elector can request a Special Ballot from the Returning Officer.  It is a write-in paper ballot, completed by the elector, and returned to the returning officer prior to the close of polls on election day.

The Special Ballot voting package contains a series of envelopes that are used to protect the confidentiality of the ballot.  The envelopes are accompanied by a declaration that confirms the elector is eligible to vote and has not already voted.

It is frequently used by electors who are:

  • Physically incapacitated
  • Studying or working away from their place of ordinary residence, or
  • Vacationing during the election period

Who is eligible:

Electors must be qualified to vote, by virtue of being:

  • Canadian citizens,
  • At least 18 years of age on election day, and 
  • A resident of Kneehill County 

Only those electors who cannot attend the advance polls or election day for one of the following reasons may apply:

  • A physical disability
  • Being absent from the local jurisdiction or
  • Being a returning officer, deputy returning officer, constable, candidate, official agent or scrutineer located at a voting station other than the one designated for their place of residence. 

When should a request be made?

AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!  The Special Ballot can be requested as of August 3rd, 2021.  The Special Ballot packages will only be sent out to the elector after nominations have closed and ballots have been printed.

Requests for Special Ballot packages can only be requested up until 4:00 p.m. on Friday, October 15, 2021.

The elector must allow enough time for the Special Ballot package to be delivered by mail service, or some other means arranged by the elector, and to be returned to the Returning Officer by the method arranged by the elector.  

How to Request a Special Ballot?

Eligible electors must complete Form 22RSE, Request for Special Ballot Package, and submit it to Kneehill County’s Returning Officer. Special Ballot requests can be made:

  • In writing;
  • By telephone;
  • In-person; or
  • By email
  • Contact information is listed below.

A Special Ballot voting kit will then be mailed to the applicant.  The voting kit will be mailed out after nominations have closed and ballots have been printed. This kit consists of a ballot and a series of envelopes designed to protect the secrecy of the elector’s vote.  The Special Ballot voting kit must then be returned to Kneehill County either by mail or in person.  The completed package must include a photocopy of your identification.  See the list of acceptable Identity on the “Voter Identification Requirements” page.  

Key Election Dates:

  • August 3, 2021- October 15, 2021, at 4:00 p.m. - Application for Special Ballots 
  • September 20, 2021- Nomination Period Closes.
  • October 18, 2021, at 4:00 p.m. Completed Special Ballot deadline.  
  • October 18, 2021 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.- Election Day

Contact Information:
Returning Officer: Carolyn Van der Kuil
Kneehill County
Box 400
1600-2nd Street NE
Three Hills, AB
T0M 2A0
Telephone: 403-443-5541

Voting by Special Ballots Instruction Video for Electors

Senate and Referendum Information

Electors will receive a ballot, along with their municipal election ballot (if applicable), to select their preferred Senate nominees. Visit for more information. 

Senate Election Proclamation

Voters will also vote on referendums regarding equalization payments and daylight savings time:

Question 1 - Equalization: "Should Section 36(2) of the Constitution Act, 1982 – Parliament and the government of Canada’s commitment to the principle of making equalization payments – be removed from the Constitution?" 

  • - A YES vote means that you support the removal of Section 36(2) from the Constitution Act, 1982, ending the practice of equalization payments.
  •  - A NO vote means that you support keeping Section 36(2) in the Constitution Act, 1982, continuing the practice of equalization payments.

Question 2 - Daylight Saving Time: "Do you want Alberta to adopt year-round Daylight Saving Time, which is summer hours, eliminating the need to change our clocks twice a year?"

  •  - A “YES” vote means you support a permanent change to summer hours and no longer turning our clocks forward in March and backward in November.
  •  - A “NO” vote means you support continuing the current practice of turning our clocks forward in March and backward in November.

Learn more about the referendum questions online, or call 1.877.422.VOTE (8683) for more information.